After losing assembly polls, Maya to get ticket for RS seat

Posted By: Ria
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Lucknow, Mar 20: With the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections, over 10 nominations have been filed for Rajya Sabha seats from Uttar Pradesh, including BSP supremo Mayawati and Samajwadi party member Jaya Bachchan.

The nomination filing for the biennial polls in 15 states is closing on Tuesday, Mar 20. Pradeep Dubey, state principal secretary of Vidhan Sabha has reported that around 10 candidates have filed their nominations from Uttar Pradesh.

While, it has been found that the ruling Samajwadi Party has selected six candidates including actor-turned-politician Jaya Bachchan, Darshan Singh Yadav, Kiranmay Nanda, Naresh Agarwal, Brij Chushan Tiwari and Munawwar Saleem from the state.

Meanwhile, Former Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Mayawati and Munkaad Ali have filed their nominations from BSP, Vinay Katiyar has filed the nominations from BJP.

In the assembly elections, Samajwadi Party has grabbed the majority with 224 seats following the ruling party, BSP has a strength of 80 MLAs.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...