Counting of votes begins in Uttarakhand

Posted By: Pti
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Dehra Dun, Mar 6: The counting of votes for 70 Assembly seats in Uttarakhand began this morning amid tight security. The counting began at 8 AM and would decide the fate of 788 candidates with the main opposition Congress and the ruling BJP being the main contenders for the power.

"The counting has just begun," state chief Electoral Officer Radha Raturi said. There are no special arrangements made by the election commission to show trends for the counting, Raturi said. A total of 16 centres across the 13 districts have been set up for counting of votes, she said.

"During the first half-an-hour, postal ballots would be counted and later the votes casted through EVMs would be counted," Raturi said. In Uttarakhand, the polling was held on January 30.

The fate of Chief Minister B C Khanduri, who is facing an intense tussle against Surendra Singh Negi from Kotdwar seat would decided. Significantly, the ruling BJP had carried its entire campaign on the shoulders of Khanduri which was billed as 'Khanduri Hain Zaruri'.

Besides, Khanduri former Chief Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank and several ministers are also facing stiff competition in different constituencies.

Rudraprayag constituency in Garhwal region has become a key constituency where leader of the opposition Harak Singh Rawat is pitted against his brother-in-law and irrigation minister Matbar Singh Kandari. 


Please Wait while comments are loading...