Brisk polling recorded in third phase of UP elections

Posted By: Pti
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Voters lined up outside a polling booth in UP
Lucknow, Feb 15: Brisk polling was recorded for the third phase of UP Assembly elections for 56 seats in 10 districts with nearly 35 per cent of the over 1.75 crore electorate exercising their franchise in the first six hours.

Naxal-hit Sonbhadra district recorded maximum 38 per cent polling, whereas minimum 30 per cent was registered in Allahabad.

"Voting began at 7 AM for the third phase of assembly elections and 34.72 per cent polling was recorded till 1 PM," Election Commission officials said here.

Among other districts, CSM Nagar recorded 36 per cent, Sultanpur 33 per cent, Kaushambi 36 per cent, Jaunpur 32.66 per cent, Varanasi 32.8 per cent, Bhadoi 37 per cent and Mirzapur 34 per cent.

This phase will decide the fate of three cabinet ministers, a minister of state, 29 sitting MLAs and 14 former ministers. More than 1.75 crore voters are expected to cast their votes to seal the fate of 1,018 candidates in the polling to be held in CSM Nagar, Sultanpur, Kaushambi, Allahabad, Jaunpur, Chandauli, Varanasi, Sant Ravidas Nagar, Mirzapur and Sonbhadra.

Fate of 1,018 candidates in 10 districts, including Amethi and Rae Bareli, bastion of Nehru-Gandhi family, and Naxal-hit districts Chandauli, Sonbhadra and Mirzapur would be decided in the third phase.

In this phase, at least 121 candidates with criminal background and as many as 48 'crorepatis' are in the fray. Sinha said that polling would end by 4 PM in Naxal-affected area of Chakia in Sonbhadra and Duddhi in Robertsganj of Sonbhadra. A total of 2,025 polling stations have been identified as sensitive and 1,766 as hyper sensitive.

The CEO said that polling was being held at 18,374 polling booths at 11,607 polling stations where 1,122 video cameras and 1,190 digital cameras have been installed to maintain a vigil on poll process.

Stakes are high for ruling BSP, Congress, SP and the BJP in the no holds barred fight for the 403 assembly seats.


Please Wait while comments are loading...