Youth Cong Prez embarks on campaign, attacks Nitish

Posted By: Pti
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Bihar map
Siwan, Oct 8: Bihar Youth Congress president Lallan Kumar, accompanied by former minister Vijay Shankar Dubey today (Oct 8) embarked on an intensive campaign in Daraunda assemply segment in Siwan going to bypoll on October 13 and assailed the NDA government for its failure on all fronts.

After receiving message from AICC in-charge of Bihar affairs Gulcharan Singh Charak, Kumar and Dubey started a door-to-door campaign and visited Jalapur, Bishunpura, Dhanauta, Nawalpur, Baidapur, Pandeypur, Konhua, Harsar, Arjal, Hasanpura, Simri, and Daraunda to mobilise support for the party nominee Kalika Sharan Singh in the bypoll.

State congress president Choudhary Mehboob Ali Kaiser too asked Kumar to camp in the constituency to mobilise support for the party candidate. Speaking at Election Meetings, Kumar and Dubey alleged that Nitish Kumar government was a failure. +Whatever development work is visible in Bihar it is because of the funds provided by the Congress government at the centre+, they said.

With support of former MPs Prabhu Nath Singh and jailed party leader Md Shahabuddin to RJD nominee Prameshwar Singh and another local heavyweight Ajay Singh fielding his wife Kavita Kumari on a ruling JD(U) ticket, the bypoll to Daraunda assembly poll promises to be a keenly-contested affair.

The October 13 bypoll has been necessitated following the death of JD(U) MLA Jagmato Devi. Lalu Prasad has decided to camp in the constituency on October 9 and October 10, while Chief Minister Nitish Kumar would mobilise support for his party nominee on October 11, the day when he would also flag off Rath Yatra of senior BJP leader L K Adavni against corruption.

Daraunda constituency was carved out from Raghunathpur assembly segment, once considered a strong hold of Congress, where its senior leader Vijay Shankar Dubey won four times in 1980, 1985, 1990 and 2000. Vikram Kuer, now BJP MLA from Raghunathpur, won the seat on RJD ticket in 1995. CPI-ML (Liberation) which has strong following in Siwan has put up Jainath Yadav as its candidate. 


Please Wait while comments are loading...