Karnataka: By-election votes counting on Friday

Posted By: Pti
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Karnataka map
Bangalore, May 12: The month long wait for ruling BJP, opposition Congress and JDS for outcome of the April 13 bye-elections to three assembly constituencies in Karnataka will end tomorrow when counting of votes will be taken up.

Karnataka 2011 by-polls: BSY's party BJP sweeps all the seats

The bypolls, held on April9, were forced on Chennapatna, Jagalur (ST) and Bangarpet (SC) constituencies following defection of two Congress and a JD(S) MLA to BJP.

Thirty three aspirants are in the fray. The ruling BJP, which has a strength of 106 members in the 224-member house, hopes to enhance its tally and had campaigned vigorously.

Congress and JDS had also left no stone unturned to win these seats. About 75 per cent of an estimated 4.93 lakh electorate had exercised their votes in the election.

The state assembly has still 17 vacancies caused by the disqualification of 16 MLAs and following resigning of the seat by a JDS member Karadi Sanganna from Koppal constituency.


Please Wait while comments are loading...