Cong clears 17 candidates for Puducherry polls

Posted By: Pti
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Congress hand
New Delhi, Mar 25: Chief Minister V Vaihilingam is among the 17 candidates whose names were announced by Congress for the assembly election in Puducherry.

Vaithilingam, who was representing Nettapakkam constituency in his native village in the assembly since 1985, has been fielded from Kamaraj Nagar constituency this time. He was shifted to Kamaraj Nagar after Nettapakkam was made a reserved segment following delimitation of constituencies.

Revenue and Tourism Minister Malladi Krishna Rao has been fielded from Yanam while the assembly Speaker R Radhakrishnan is contesting from nomination from Bahoor.

Congress is contesting 17 seats in alliance with DMK in the state. DMK is contesting for 10 seats in the 30-member state assembly. The remaining three seats are to be shared by other partners in the front.


Please Wait while comments are loading...