Jaya to contest from Srirangam

Posted By: Pti
Subscribe to Oneindia News
J Jayalalithaa
Chennai, Mar 16: AIADMK chief Jayalalithaa will contest the Apr 13 Tamil Nadu Assembly polls from the temple town of Srirangam in Tiruchirapalli district. Her name finds place in the first list of AIADMK candidates released today.

The Srirangam assembly segment falls under the Tiruchirappalli Lok Sabha constituency, which was won by the AIADMK in the last election.

AIADMK Presidium Chairman E Madhusudanan will be fielded from R K Nagar in Chennai while former AIADMK minister D Jayakumar would contest the Royapuram seat.

Former minister B Valarmathy would try her luck from Thousand lights, now represented by Tamil Nadu Deputy Chief Minister MK Stalin and former MP Gokulam Indira from Anna Nagar.

JCD Prabhakar is the AIADMK nominee for Villivakkam here, from where DMK General Secretary K Anbazhagan is likely to contest. Four sitting MLAs have been renominated.

Besides Jayalalithaa, who now represents Andipatti, the other sitting MLAs are V P Kalairajan, (T Nagar), G Sentamizhan (Saidapet) and D Jayakumar (Royapuram).


Please Wait while comments are loading...