''Kalaimamani'' awards to 125 artistes

Posted By: Pti
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, Feb 13 (PTI): A total of 125 artistes who excelledin the field of art, dance and drama in the last three yearsin Tamil Nadu were today conferred the "Kalaimamani" awardsby Chief Minister M Karunanidhi here this evening.

Cinematographer Rajeev Menon, comedian Karunaas, writersElasai Sundaram and Rani Mainthan were presented with theawards for 2008 at a function here this evening.

Writers Nanjil Nadan, Rajeshkumar, Actors Chinni Jayanth,Actress Rohini, Saranya, veteran actress Padmini, vocalistGayathri Girish, television artistes Poovilangu Mohan werepresented the awards by Karunanidhi for the year 2009.

For the year 2010, vocalists T V Gopalakrishnan andSasikiran, flautist Tiruvarur Swaminathan, Singer KalyaniMenon, Actress Arya, Anushka and Thamanna Bhatia werepresented the awards

The Chief Minister also presented the ''M S SubbulakshmiAward'' to noted music composer Illayaraja,the ''BalasaraswathiAward to danseuse Padma Subrahmaniyam, Bharati Award to writerJayakanthan, Lifetime Achievement Award to veteran ActressSaroja Devi and to Actor Y G Mahendra respectively.

Speaking after presenting the awards, he said the DMKgovernment, if voted to power after the coming polls, woulddouble the number of awardees.

Karunanidhi, who has been associated with the Tamil filmindustry for the past 50 years through screenplays anddialogues, recently received the ''Heart of Cinema'' award fromthe jury of International Film festival of Nagpur for his''outstanding contribution to the industry.'' PTI VIJ APRAPR

Please Wait while comments are loading...