Govt. excludes Manipur, Mizoram and Nagaland from 'Protected Area' for foreigners

Posted By: Nairita Das
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Dec 31 (ANI): The Central Government has now decided to exclude the entire area of the States of Manipur, Mizoram and Nagaland from the 'Protected Area' regime notified under the Foreigners (Protected Areas) Order 1958, initially for a period of one year.

However, all foreigners visiting these States will have to register themselves with the Foreigners Registration Officer (FRO) of the district that they visit within 24 hours of their arrival.

Citizens of some specified countries would, however, continue to require prior approval of the Ministry of Home Affairs before their visit to these three States.

Indian Missions/Posts have also been authorized to issue 'Missionary Visa' to foreign Missionaries visiting these three States as per the extant guidelines of the Government.

"These changes will ease the difficulties being faced by foreigners to visit these three States. These instructions would come into force with effect from January 1, 2011," said a Home Ministry release. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...