Elaborate security in place for last phase of Bihar Assembly polls

Posted By: Nairita Das
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Patna, Nov 19 (ANI): Elaborate security arrangements have been made to ensure a free and fair poll during the sixth and last phase of Bihar Assembly elections on Saturday.

Of the twenty-six assembly constituencies, spread over Rohtas, Aurangabad, Buxar, Kaimur and Gaya districts, 18 have been declared Naxal-hit, where a poll boycott call has been given by the Maoists.

Polling will be held in the Naxal-affected seats between 7 a.m. and 3 p.m., while in the rest of the seats it will be held between 7 a.m. and 5 p.m.

A total of 426 candidates, including 43 women, are in the fray in the last phase of elections.

Prominent candidates in fray include the Speaker of the outgoing Assembly and JD-U leader Uday Narayan Choudhary (Imamganj), BJP Minister Awadhesh Narayan Singh (Dehri), JD-U Ministers Chhedi Paswan (Mohania) and Anil Kumar (Tekari).

Director-General of Police Neelmani said: "Elaborate and unprecedented security arrangement has been made for the smooth conduct of polls."

There would be a 100 per cent deployment of the Central Para-Military Force in Gaya and Aurangabad districts. The other districts would have between 90 and 95 per cent deployment.

The remaining districts will be covered by regular armed forces.

Four BSF helicopters, including an MI-17 and a Dhruv, would be stationed at Gaya, Aurangabad, Rohtas and Kaimur districts with STF commandos for air surveillance.

BSF sniffer dogs and CRPF bomb detection and disposal squads would also be present.

The State is in the process of electing a new 243-seat assembly.

Counting of votes will take place on November 24. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...