Karnataka govt set for second trust vote

Posted By: Samyuktha
Subscribe to Oneindia News
BS Yeddyurappa
Bangalore, Oct 14: Amid high security and threats of boycott from Congress and JD(S), the BS Yeddyurappa-led BJP government in Karnataka is yet again set to undergo the floor test in the Assembly on Thursday, Oct 14 at 11 am.

With 105 BJP MLAs, BS Yeddurappa is set to win the second trust vote in the held in a four days.

This was made possible as the Karnataka High Court on Wednesday, Oct 13 held that the 16 dissident MLAs, disqualified earlier by the Speaker KG Bopaiah hours ahead of the Oct 11 trust vote, would not vote in the second floor test.

However, the outcome of the vote may be irrelevant as the High Court has ruled that the outcome will depend on its Oct 18 judgment on the joint writ petition filed by the rebels.

The 225-member legislative assembly has been reduced to 208 following the disqualification of the 11 BJP MLAs and five independents. Now, the strength of BJP stands at 106, including the speaker, while the Opposition parties, JD(S) and Congress, combined add up to 100.

The lone independent MLA Varthur Prakash was with the opposition till Monday, Oct 11. He, however, jumped to ruling party Wednesday, Oct 13 to vote in favour of the confidence motion.

Party position in Karnataka Assembly

Total Members - 224 - Reduced to 208

Party Members            After               Disqualification
BJP                                 117                        106
Janata Dal(S)                  28                          28
Congress                        72                          72
Independents                  6                            1

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...