K'taka: HC rejects 5 MLAs plea to vote on Oct 14

Posted By: Mamatha
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Karnataka map
Bangalore, Oct 13: The Karnataka High Court refused to allow the disqualified five Independent MLAs to vote and also rejected their appeal to stay Oct 14 trust vote.

All the disqualified five Independent MLAs appealed the Karnataka High Court on Wednesday, Oct 13, seeking right to vote in Oct 14 trust vote.

5 Independents MLAs and 11 BJP MLAs were disqualified by the Assembly Speaker K G Bopaiah, under the provisions of the anti-defection law ahead of the trust vote in the Assembly.

On Monday, Oct 11, BJP won the controversial trust vote. However, the floor test sparked off a row as the Speaker K G Bopaiah disqualified the rebel MLAs ahead of the vote.

On Oct 14, Karnataka Chief Minister BS Yeddyurappa has to again prove the majority in Assembly.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...