Bihar polls: Rabri Devi to contest two seats

Posted By: Abdul Nisar
Subscribe to Oneindia News
Rabri and Lalu Prasad
Patna, Oct 4: Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) supremo Lalu Prasad's wife and former Chief Minister of Bihar, Rabri Devi will contest from two Assembly seats in Bihar Assembly election.

On Monday, Oct 4 Lalu Prasad announced that his wife will contest in election from Raghopur in Vaishali district and Sonepur in Chapra district in the third phase of the Assembly polls.

Rabri Devi, present MLA of Raghopur constituency, was the Chief Minister of Bihar from 1997 to 2005. She was the first and the only woman chief minister of Bihar so far. During her rule opposition parties accused that Lalu Prasad was holding the power and controlling the government.

"The party has decided to field Rabri Devi from two constituencies. We are sure that she will win from both the seats," said Lalu Prasad.

The RJD also announced the second list of 60 candidates for the third and fourth phases of the polls. Bihar Assembly polls will begin on Oct 21 and ends Nov 20.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...