SY Quraishi appointed as new CEC

Posted By: Mamatha
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jul 28: Shahbuddin Yaqoob Quraishi was appointed by President Pratibha Patil, as the new Chief Election Commissioner of India, on Tuesday, Jul 27.  

Quraishi will replace Navin Chawla, whose term will come to an end on Thursday, Jul 29.

"In pursuance of Clause 2 of Art 324 of the Constitution, the President is pleased to appoint Shri Shahabuddin Yaqub Quraishi as Chief Election Commissioner with effect from 30th Aug, 2010," said the Law Ministry notification.

"I feel deeply honoured on being entrusted with this assignment. Election Commission of India is an institution in which the nation places a great trust. It would be my utmost endeavour to prove myself worthy of this trust," said Quraishi.

Incidentally, SY Quraishi became the first Muslim Chief Election Commissioner of India.

Quraishi, is currently working as one of the two election commissioners. He was appointed election commissioner on Jun 30, 2006.

Quraishi is a 1971-batch IAS officer. He also served as a Secretary in the Sports and Youth Affairs Ministry at the centre.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...