Telangana by-polls start on Tuesday Jul 27

Posted By: Abdul Nisar
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, Jul 26: By-election in twelve constituencies in the Telangana belt in Andhra Pradesh will be held on Tuesday, Jul 27.

The by-polls are being held after 12 legislators supporting the Telangana movement resigned from their seats in support of the movement.

Out of the 12 seats, 10 were in possession of the Telangana Rashtra Samiti while Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Telugu Desam Party (TDP) had the other two.

BJP on Monday, Jul 26, appealed to the people to vote for those candidates who resigned in support of Telangana state.

BJP leader Bandaru Dattatreya claimed that ruling Congress has been indulging in tempting voters by giving money and wine particularly in Nizamabad urban assembly constituency from where APCC president D Srinivas is contesting against BJP candidate Lakshminarayana.

Counting of votes of the bye-election will take place on Friday, Jul 30.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...