Jharkhand: BJP-JMM seal deal on rotational power

Posted By: Samyuktha
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Ranchi, May 18: The Jharkhand political crisis has finally come to an end as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) have agreed to share power on a rotational basis.

This means that BJP and JMM will reign the state for the remaining term of Jharkhand Assembly alternatively. Each party will head the government for a span of 28 months.

BJP will be in power for the first 28 months under the leadership of Arjun Munda, who will take over as chief minister of the state, once Shibu Soren steps down.

The turbulence in the Jharkhand government began when JMM supremo and Chief Minister, Shibu Soren voted in favour of the Congress-led UPA in a cut motion moved against the government in the parliament in Apr 2010.

With the BJP looking at Soren's vote as an act of betrayal, the JMM-BJP coalition fell apart as BJP decided to withdraw its support from the Jharkhand government.

However, BJP put the decision on hold to mull other options and hear what JMM has to offer so that the parties can stay in power.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...