BJP registers victory in Bangalore Municipal polls

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Apr 5 (ANI): The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Monday registered a thumping victory in the Bangalore City Corporation elections by winning 110 seats.

Election to the 198 seat-Bruhat Bangalore Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) was held on March 28.

The Congress stood second position, by winning 64 seats. The Janata Dal (Secular) won 14 seats. While the Independents won six seats.

The results of six more seats are awaited.

In addition to the 198 corporators, a total of 52 elected members -- MPs, MLAs and MLCs-have voting rights in the mayoral polls.

The BJP has 31 of these 52 members, including 17 MLAs in BBMP jurisdiction; the Congress has 10 MLAs and the JD-S one.

Interacting with the media, Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa said the victory is a sign of public's confidence in his government.

"We don't need a better example than this, that if you do good work, development work, people will bless you", Yeddyurappa said.

"The people of Bangalore have given a reply to those engaged in criticism and commentary on the functioning of the BJP- led state government," he added.

Karnataka Congress chief R V Deshpande said in such elections, legislators use their influence, and charged the BJP with misusing power.

The BBMP was formed by merging seven city municipal councils, one town municipal council and 111 villages in and around Bangalore city. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...