DMK retains Pennagaram Assembly seat

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Chennai, Mar 31: The ruling DMK retained the Pennagaram Assembly seat defeating the rivals AIADMK, PMK and DMDK in by-polls.

In results declared on Tuesday, Mar 30, the final vote tally stood at DMK with 77,669, PMK with 41,282, AIADMK with 26,787 and DMDK with 11,406 votes.

With this victory, the DMK has 99 members in the State Assembly.

Ever since the Karunanidhi-led party came to power in 2006, DMK has won all Assembly polls.

The by-elections held on Saturday, Mar 27 was necessitated by the death of the DMK MLA PN Periyannan in Dec 2009.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...