Women's Reservation Bill: Unruly Rajya Sabha MPs suspended for rest of session

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Mar 9 (ANI): Seven Rajya Sabha MPs, who had created a ruckus on Monday during the tabling of the Women's Reservation Bill, were suspended for the rest of Parliament session on Tuesday.

The suspended MPs are: Nand Kishore Yadav (Samajwadi Party), Kamal Akhtar (Samajwadi Party), Aamir Alam Khan (Samajwadi Party), Veerpal Singh Yadav (Samajwadi Party), Subash Yadav (Rashtriya Janata Dal and party chief Lalu Prasad's brother-in-law), Sabir Ali (Lok Janshakti Party) and Ejaz Ali (Janata Dal-United).

The motion for their suspension was moved by Minister of State for Parliamentary Affairs Prithviraj Chavan and was passed by a voice vote

Chairman Hamid Ansari also adjourned the House till 2.pm. But the seven MPs did not go out of the House and sat on the floor protesting against their suspension

The action was taken under Rule 256 of the House, for showing total disregard for dignity of Council and authority of the Chair by obstructing the business of the House. Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh had on Monday telephoned Ansari and expressed regret over attempts by some MPs to attack him in the Rajya Sabha over the Women's Reservation Bill.

Ansari was subjected to a near-assault by MPs opposed to the Women's Reservation Bill. oon after Ansari read out a message over the Bill, SP and RJD members demanded a discussion on why the commission's report recommending reservation to minorities, was not being implemented.

Ansari said they could raise the issue during Zero Hour and pleaded with them to allow Question Hour to proceed.

SP and RJD members, however, continued to shout slogans seeking implementation of the report. They tore up copies of the bill and threw them at Ansari. Some also grabbed microphones on the chairman's table.

The security attendants had to swing into action and shield the Chairman. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...