Actors lobbying to get National Awards, reveals jury member

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mumbai, Jan. 23 (ANI): One of the jury members of the National Awards committee has revealed that actors constantly lobby to be included in the award list.

While announcing the 56th National Awards, Sudhish Pauchauri, flanked by Information and Broadcasting Minister Ambika Soni, said that there was no pressure from the Ministry, but it was the actors who constantly called up the jury members in order to get their name included in the award list.

Pachauri added that the jury of National Awards works on independent basis and not on outside pressure.

Earlier in the day, the 56th National Film Awards for 2008 were announced.

Priyanka Chopra bagged the best actress award for film 'Fashion'. Kangana Ranaut is selected for best supporting actress also for 'Fashion' while Arjun Rampal was adjudged best supporting actor for his role in 'Rock On'.

Bala will get the award for best direction for the Tamil film, Naan Kadauul. Hindi film Firaaq is selected for best editing and best art direction categories.

Antaheen (Bengali)) was announced the best feature film and also selected for the award in best cinematography, best lyrics and best female playback singer category.

The best actor award went to Upendra Limaye for his performance in Marathi feature film Jogva. Hariharan gets the best male playback singer award and Shreya Ghoshal, the best female playback singer for Antaheen and Jogva.

The Marathi film was also chosen as the best film on the social issues as well as best film for music direction.

'Little Zizou' (English, Gujarati) was adjudged the best film on family values. Kannada film Gubbachigalu gets the best chilren's film award.

Master Shams Patel bagged the best child artist for 'Thanks Maa'.

The Special Jury Award goes to Malayalam film 'Bioscope' produced by National Film Development Corporation.

Neeta Lulla has been selected for best costume designer for Jodha Akbar. The film was also selected in the best choreography category.

'AFSPA 1958' was adjudged the best non-feature film for the courageous depiction of the non-violent resistance of the people of Manipur.

Films Division produced 'The Assassination of Rajiv Gandhi - A Reconstruction' has been selected under the category 'Best Biographical/Historical Reconstruction/Compilation film'. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...