56th National Film Awards announced; Priyanka Chopra wins Best Actor female

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jan 23 (ANI): The 56th National Film Awards for 2008 were announced today.

The Juries for Feature Film, Non-Feature Film and for Best Writing on Cinema presented their report to the Union Information and Broadcasting Minister Ambika Soni.

As per recommendations of the Jury, Priyanka Chopra bagged the best actress award for film 'Fashion'. Kangana Ranaut is selected for best supporting actress also for 'Fashion' while Arjun Rampal was adjudged best supporting actor for his role in 'Rock On'.

Sh. Bala would get the award for best direction for the Tamil film Naan Kadauul. Hindi film Firaaq is selected for best editing and best art direction categories.

Antaheen (Bengali)) was announced the best feature film and also selected for the Award in best cinematography, best lyrics and best female playback singer category.

The best actor award goes to Upendra Limaye for his performance in Marathi feature film Jogva. Hariharan gets the best male playback singer award and Shreya Ghoshal, the best female playback singer for Antaheen and Jogva also.

The Marathi film was also chosen in best film on social issues category as also for the best music direction award.

'Little Zizou' (English, Gujarati) was adjudged the best film on family values. Kannada film Gubbachigalu gets the best chilren's film award.

Master Shams Patel bagged the best child artist for 'Thanks Maa'.

The Special Jury Award goes to Malayalam film 'Bioscope' produced by National Film Development Corporation.

Neeta Lulla is selected for best costume designer for Jodha Akbar.

The film Jodha Akbar was also selected in the best choreography category.

'AFSPA 1958' was adjudged the best non-feature film for the courageous depiction of the non-violent resistance of the people of Manipur.

Films Division produced 'The Assassination of Rajiv Gandhi - A Reconstruction' has been selected under the category 'Best Biographical/Historical Reconstruction/Compilation film'.

President Pratibha Devisingh Patil shall confer the Awards on the winners in March. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...