India, Pakistan exchange Nuke sites list

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Jan 2: India and Pakistan exchanged the nineteenth consecutive list of nuclear list installations on Friday, Jan 1.

The list was exchanged under the Agreement on the Prohibition of Attack against Nuclear Installations and Facilities which was signed on December 31, 1988 and it came into effect on January 27, 1991.

Indian ministry of external affairs said in a press release that the exchange made through diplomatic channels took place simultaneously at New Delhi and Islamabad.

While the Pakistan's list was handed over to the diplomat of the Indian High Commission at the foreign Office at 11 a.m in Islamabad, India's list was to a Pakistani diplomat at its headquarters in South Block at 11.30 a.m in New Delhi.

So far India has conducted five nuclear test since its first nuclear test in 1974. On the other hand Pakistan has conducted six nuclear test in 1998 in response to India's five nuclear test in 1998.

India and Pakistan are not signatory to Nuclear Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT).

India refused to sign the NPT calling it discriminatory. Pakistan on its part said that it would note be part of the NPT unless India decides to do so.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...