Jharkhand polls: People give factured mandate

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Ranchi, Dec 23: The people of Jharkhand, as expected, gave a fractured mandate and led the state to a hung assembly.

The Congress-JVM combine secured 25 seats, BJP and JD(U) bagged 20, JMM won 18 and others including RJD, AJSU secured 18 too.

Since the pre-poll alliances failed to form a majority, post-poll lobbying has begun, with Shibu Soren or 'Guruji' emerging as the kingmaker.

Jharkhand Assembly Polls 2009- Final Tally (81/81)

Party        Win
Cong+        25
BJP+          20
JMM           18
Others        18

Seven Koda ministers lose
The wife of scandal-tainted leader Madhu Koda may have secured a victory, but the electorate dished out defeat to seven former ministerial colleagues of Madhu Koda.

The seven unfortunate colleagues of Koda include former deputy chief ministers Sudhir Mahto and Stephen Marandi, Kamlesh Singh, Bhanu Pratap Sahi, Aprna Sen Gupta, Dulal Bhuiya and Jhobha Manjhi, say latest reports.

As per the data available now, Congress combine has secured 24 seats and is leading in 1, while BJP alliance has bagged 19 seats and is also leading in one.
5:55 PM

Cong, BJP compete for JMM's support
Latest results and trends indicate that the Congress-JVM(P) combine and the BJP-led alliance will get 22 to 26 seats each.

In-focus: Jharkhand Assembly Polls 2009

JMM will be close behind with 16 to 19 seats in the 81-member assembly.

"It is high time that secular forces unite," said union food processing minister and Congress MP Subodh Kant Sahay.

While, state BJP president Raghubar Das said, "No one is an untouchable for us. We are ready for an alliance government with the support of other parties."
2:50 PM

Koda's wife wins from Jaganathpur

Independent candidate Geeta Koda, the wife of former chief minister Madhu Koda has won over her rivals in the Jaganathpur seat.

In trends available for the 81 seats, the BJP and its ally JD(U) were ahead in 24 seats while Congress-JVM(P) alliance was leading in 23 seats.

The Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) was ahead in 19 seats.
1:31 PM

Jharkhand moves towards hung Assembly

The poll result is changing fast in Jharkhand as Congress takes over the BJP as the single largest party in the state.

Congress is leading in 25 assembly seats, while BJP came a close second with 20 seats.

News stories on Jharkhand Assembly Polls 2009

However, the final scenario could be different as JMM has secured a lead on 14 seats and Independents are ahead on 14.

Both Congress and BJP will now look at joining hands with either of the two after the final results emerge.
11:32 AM

BJP leads in 21 seats

The BJP appears to have taken an early lead in the Jharkhand assembly election.

BJP is leading in 21 assembly seats, while Congress plus alliance in 20.

UPA ally JMM is leading in 17 seats, RJD plus alliance in 8, while others are ahead in two seats.
10:15 AM

J'khand's poll count begins, BJP leads in 13 seats

Counting of votes for the 81-member Jharkhand Assembly begun on Wednesday, Dec 23, amidst tight security.

The fate of 1,489 candidates who contested the five-phase elections from Nov 25 to Dec 18 would be known.

Bharatiya Janata Party-Janata Dal (United), Congress-Jharkhand Vikash Morcha (Prajantrik) and Rashtriya Janata Dal, Lok Janshakti Party, Communist Party of India, Communist Party of India-Marxist and Maoist Coordination Committee (MCC) are the three main alliances.

The BJP appears to have taken an early lead, with its candidates leading in 13 seats and the Congress coming up second with a lead in 8 seats from a total of 34 seats.

Central paramilitary forces are deployed at all counting centres, officials said.
09:14 AM

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...