Congress wins Manipur assembly by-polls

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Imphal, Dec 23: Defeating independent H Jayadev by over 900 votes, the Congress candidate E Suraj won the Manipur by election to Yaiskul Assembly constituency.

Reports suggest that Suraj secured 9799 votes as against 8856 bagged by Jayadev.

Suraj is the son of Congress MLA E Kunjeshore, whose sudden and untimely death necessitated the by elections.

The polling was held on Saturday, Dec 19 and counting was done on Wednesday, Dec 23.

With this victory, Congress has a strength of 31 seats in a 60-member assembly.

Congress along with the CPI, which has 3 seats, form the ruling Congress-led Secular Progressive Front (SPF) ministry in Manipur.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...