Jharkhand all set to stage fourth phase of assembly poll

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Ranchi, Dec 11 (ANI): Over 24 lakh voters will decide the fate of 233 candidates during the fourth phase of the Jharkhand assembly polls on Saturday.

Voting will take place in fourteen constituencies.

These are Baharagora, Ghatshila, Potka, Ichagarh, Majhgaon, Manoharpur, Torpa, Sisai, Chakradharpur, Gumla, Bishunpur, Simdega, Kolebira and Lohardaga.

Voting will decide the political future of former State Deputy Chief Minister Sudhir Mahato, Health Minister Dinesh Sarangi, Rural Development Minister Enos Ekka and Tribal Welfare Minister Joba Manjhi.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and the Jharkhand Mukti Morcha (JMM) are contesting all the seats, while the Congress Party is contesting 12 seats and the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) 11 seats. The Community Party of India (CPI) and Communist Party of India (Marxist) are contesting one seat each. There are 14 independent candidates also in the fray.

The Election Commission has set up 3457 polling stations for Saturday's polls.

According to Jharkhand Police, tight security arrangements have been made, as there are chances of violence taking place in the Maoist-dominated areas.

The Centre has also deployed six helicopters for surveillance.f the 81 Assembly seats, the polling has taken place in 51 seats. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...