50 Congress, TDP MLAs resign over Centre's nod for Telangana State

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, Dec 10 (ANI): There are reports that around 50 Congress and Telugu Desam Party MLAs have resigned here in protest against the Centre's acceptance for a separate Telangana State.

Under tremendous pressure, the Centre late on Wednesday night accepted the demand of Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) chief K Chandrashekhar Rao for the formation of a Telangana State.

L Rajagopala, a Congress MP from Vijayawada has expressed his desire to resign and conveyed his message to the Lok Sabha speaker. It has been speculated that around five more MPs from Andhra Pradesh may join Rajagopala and hand over their resignations protesting against the Central government for approving the Telangana issue.

Rajagopala, the Congress MP is an industrialist turned politician and with he always firm against the formation of a Telangana State, the members of the TRS supporters have attacked his house in the past.

Andhra Pradesh Congress Chief D Srinivas however, refused to accept that the party members had resigned or have any plans to resign.

"All must reconcile now that the decision has been taken. There are no resignations. Please give them time to understand the decision," he added.

Meanwhile, the MPs from Telangana met Congress President Sonia Gandhi and Prime Minister Manmohan Singh in New Delhi to express their delight and thanked them for the decision taken. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...