WB: TMC-Cong combine wins 8 seats

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Kolkata, Nov 10: Trinamool Congress and ally Congress has bagged 8 of the 10 seats in the assembly bypolls in West Bengal.

Trinamool Congress, which fielded candidates in seven seats, made a clean sweep winning all of them. Congress, which contested three, won only one when it retained Sujapur assembly seat in Malda.

TMC candidate Sujit Bose wrested it by a record 28,360 votes from CPM's Ramala Chakraborty, the widow of the former minister.

The party also set foot in North Bengal with Trinamool candidate Khageswar Ray wresting the Rajgunj seat by 15,029 votes from CPM which had fielded Dhanapati Ray.

"It is a victory of democracy and peace. It is also a victory of Ma, Mati, Manush (mother, land and people)," TMC chief Mamata Banerjee said.

The seven seats won by TMC are Alipur, Serampore, Bongaon, Egra, Contai South, Rajgunj and Belgachia East.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...