Three quakes puts South Pacific on tsunami alert

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Port Vila, Oct 8: Just days after Tsunami killed over 100 in Samoa, a series of powerful earthquakes triggered a tsunami alert for 11 countries and territories of the South Pacific.

A 7.8 magnitude and a 7.3 magnitude quakes hit the northwest of the South Pacific island nation of Vanuatu in a span of fifteen minutes. The third quake of magnitude 7.1 was recorded about an hour later.

The 11 territories put on Tsunami alert include Vanuatu, the Solomon Islands, Papua New Guinea, Nauru, Fiji and Kiribati.

Pacific Tsunami Warning Center has also put a tsunami watch in regions as far as Australia and New Zealand.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...