Pak bans JuD, LeT, 23 other terrorists groups

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Islamabad, Aug 6: Pakistan's interior ministry said on Wednesday, Aug 5 that its government has banned 25 religious groups and other outlawed organisations, including the Jammat-ud Dawah, Jaish-e-Mohammed and Lashkar-e-Toiba.

Among the organisations included in the list of outlawed groups are JuD, LeT, JeM, Tehrik-e-Taliban Pakistan, Tehrik-e-Nifaz-e-Shariah Muahammadi, Lashkar-e-Jhangvi, Al-Akhtar Trust, Al-Rasheed Trust, Tehreek-e-Islami, Islamic Students Movement, Khair-un-Nisa International Trust, Islami Tehreek-e-Pakistan, Lashkar-e-Islam, Balochistan Liberation Army, Jamiat-un-Nisar, Khadam Islam and Millat-e-Islamia Pakistan.

A majority of the groups have been linked to terrorist attacks and suicide bombings in Pakistan. India has blamed the JuD, LeT and JeM for several attacks including the Mumbai attacks and the 2001 assault on the Indian parliament.

Responding to a question in the National Assembly, Interior Minister Rehman Malik said, "The federal government had banned the 25 organisations and entities under the Anti-Terrorism Act of 1997."

"Three of the banned organizations- JuD, Al-Akhtar Trust and Al-Rasheed Trust -- had been included in the UN Security Council resolution no 1267," he said.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...