Sibal joins Lindau Nobel laureate club

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, June 29 (ANI): Union Human Resource Development Minister Kapil Sibal has been inducted into the Honorary Senate of the Foundation Lindau Nobelprizewinners at Lake Constance.

Sibal was inducted along with Jose Manuel Barroso, the President of the European Commission, during the opening ceremony of the 59th Lindau meeting of Nobel Laureates, in Lindau, Germany on Sunday.

The laudation read out on the occasion described Sibal as an ardent advocate for technology interventions, especially in the field of education and health.

It also said that he holds that technology can provide affordable solutions to the problems of the common man.

While giving his acceptance speech, Sibal underlined the issue of equity vis-à-vis science and technology.

He said, "science and technology has brought prosperity to the world, but it has not been uniform in its impact. The scourge of poverty persists. Our movement forward needs a course correction. I believe in the adage that "poverty anywhere is a threat to prosperity everywhere".

"In the 21st century we need to abate and not exacerbate existing disparities. We need to demolish existing boundaries through fresh scientific thinking and new technology interventions. The solutions however, must be both accessable and affordable, he added.

Sibal exhorted the scientists as global citizens to rise above narrow, divisive considerations.

Stating that science and technology is value neutral, he said scientific solutions and technological breakthroughs would help us emerge successful in our struggle for survival.

He also said that he believed the 21st century would be one of co-operation, collaboration and inclusiveness because the challenges we face are common, formidable and unprecedented. Solutions to these problems lie not in smart negotiations, stealthy strategies or stricter laws, but in science and technology pursued collaboratively.

The Foundation's Honorary Senate includes German Chancellor, Dr. Angela Merkel, former German President, Professor Dr. Roman Herzog, Dr. h.c. Dr.-Ing. E.h. Joachim Milberg (Chairman of the Supervisory Board of BMW AG ), the Secretary General of the European Research Council, Prof. Dr. Ernst-Ludwig Winnacker.

More than 200 Nobel Laureates are members of the Founders Assembly.. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...