National Rally Championship 2009 begins in Coimbatore

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Coimbatore, June 27 (ANI): With 60 participants from across the country, the first round of the National Rally Championship 2009 began in Coimbatore on Saturday.

National champion Vikram Mathias and winner of Malaysian Asia Pacific Championship and the Production World Rally Championship Gaurav Gill are also taking part in the rally.

The IMG Sports-Pro Sports Promotions are promoting the series with Bharat Petroleum's Speed as the title sponsors.

The race will be conducted for over two days. The final race will take place on Sunday.

Formula1 racer Narain Karthikeyan, who flagged off the first round of the rally, hoped that such Championships would give a boost to motor sports in India.

The Indian National Rally Championship 2009 is conducted in six rounds.

Races for other rounds will be conducted in Bangalore, Kolkata, Nasik, Chikmagalur and Shimla. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...