LS polls: Voting begins for final phase

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, May 13: Voting began for the fifth and final phase of the 15th Lok Sabha polls on Wednesday, May 13 with voters of 86 constituencies spread across seven states and two union territories exercising their franchise.

However it is not clear even after four rounds of election whether the Congress-led UPA would get another term of BJP-powered NDA would return to office after 5-years.

Over 10.78 crore voters have a say in electing 86 MPs to the 545-member lower house of Parliament in this phase. The polling exercise began at 0700 hrs across 1.21 lakh booths.

The state which send maximum number of MPs(80) to the Indian Parliament, Uttar Pradesh and Jammu and Kashmir are the only two states to see polling in all the five phases.

The fate of Congress' P Chidambaram, Mohammad Azharuddin, BJP's Maneka and Varun Gandhi and Mukhtar Abbas Naqvi, DMK's TR Baalu, A Raja, Dayanidhi Maran and MK Azhagiri, MDMK's Vaiko, Trinamool Congress chief Mamata Banerjee and Samajwadi Party's Jayaprada will be decided in this fifth phase.

Congress' Mani Shankar Aiyar, Sajjad Gani Lone of People's Conference, BJP's Vinod Khanna and Navjot Singh Sidhu's are other key contenders.

Polling has been completed to 457 Lok Sabha seats since the exercise began on Apr 16. Results will be out on May 16.

OneIndia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...