Campaigning ends for third phase of LS polls

Posted By: Staff
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Apr 28 (ANI): Campaigning in 107 constituencies that will go to polling in the third phase of elections on April 30 ended on Tuesday.

Congress President Sonia Gandhi's parliamentary constituency Rae Bareilly and Bharatiya Janata Party leader L. K. Advani's Gandhinagar would vote in this phase.

A total of 1,567 candidates would contest in nine states and two Union Territories in the third phase.

Polling for 26 Lok Sabha seats in Gujarat will be completed in one-go.esides Gujarat, polling will be held in 16 seats in Madhya Pradesh, 15 in Uttar Pradesh, 14 in West Bengal, 11 each in Bihar and Karnataka, 10 in Maharashtra and one each in Jammu and Kashmir, Sikkim, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.

The other prominent candidates in the fray in the third phase include - Janata Dal- Secular chief H. D. Deve Gowda, Janata Dal- United chief chief Sharad Yadav, former Karnataka Chief Minister S. Bangarappa and Union Ministers Sriprakash Jaiswal and Jyotiraditya Scindia.

At the end of the third phase, polling would be completed to 372 seats of the 545-member Lok Sabha. (ANI)

Please Wait while comments are loading...