• search
For Quick Alerts
For Daily Alerts

Lalu Prasad faces revolt within party

By Super Admin

New Delhi, Mar 17 (ANI): Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) Chief Lalu Prasad Yadav faced revolt within his party on Tuesday when his brother-in-law, Sadhu Yadav, declared that he would contest from a seat left for Ram Vilas Paswan's Lok Janshakti Party (LJP).

Sadhu's challenge came after the RJD announced a seat-sharing deal with the LJP in Bihar on Tuesday morning, where his name did not figure in the list of nominees.

Sadhu lashed out at Lalu and said he would declare his future strategy later.

"Lalu Prasad has knelt down before LJP chief Ram Vilas Paswan. I will decide later about contesting from Betiya and Motihari. I will inform about the party's future course of strategy later," he told reporters here.

Sadhu also attacked the alliance, saying the Betiya seat has gone to the LJP where filmmaker Prakash Jha will contest on a LJP ticket.

"Paswan has no existence in Betiya. It is my sitting seat. There is no point in giving it to Paswan. The seat has gone to the LJP after a deal with Prakash Jha, who had lost in the last election. People of the constituency are with me. There is no alliance and it will collapse. Paswan's party believes in looting the exchequer," he added.

Sadhu is currently an MP from the Gopalganj constituency, which has now become a reserved seat.

Reacting strongly to Sadhu's outbursts, Lalu Prasad virtually declared his expulsion from the party.

"Whoever revolts in my party and shows disrespect to the party's decision will be removed from the party. You may treat such people as out of the party," Prasad said.

Earlier in the day, the RJD and the LJP entered into a seat sharing deal under which Lalu Prasad's party will contest 25 seats and Ram Vilas Paswan's outfit 12, leaving the remaining three constituencies to the Congress in Bihar, which accounts for 40 Lok Sabha seats.

Elections in Bihar are to be held in four phases on April 16, 23, 30 and on May 7.

India will hold general election between April 16 and May 13, in which 714 million people will cast their votes. (ANI)

For Daily Alerts
Get Instant News Updates
Notification Settings X
Time Settings
Clear Notification X
Do you want to clear all the notifications from your inbox?
Settings X
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. This includes cookies from third party social media websites and ad networks. Such third party cookies may track your use on Oneindia sites for better rendering. Our partners use cookies to ensure we show you advertising that is relevant to you. If you continue without changing your settings, we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on Oneindia website. However, you can change your cookie settings at any time. Learn more