Poll notification for J

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Jammu, Nov 26 (UNI) Notification for the final seventh phase of Assembly election in Jammu and Kashmir was issued today in which three districts of Srinagar, Jammu and Samba will go to the polls on December 24, an official spokesman said.

December 3 has been fixed as the last date for filing the nomination papers, while the scrutiny would be done the next day.

As per notification, December 6 would be the last date for withdrawal of candidatures.

The final phase has the highest number of constituencies going to the polls with highest number of 1,691,797 voters, including 822,671 female voters. The total electorate also includes 18,214 service voters.

A total aggregate of 1,872 polling stations are being set up across the three districts to facilitate voters on the polling day.

As many as 9,57,490 electors are likely to vote in 11 constituencies of Jammu district, which include 490,186 male and 467,304 female voters.

Of the 999 polling stations being set up in Jammu district, 162 will be established in Gandhi Nagar, 161 in Jammu West, 93 in Akhnoor, 83 each in Raipur-Domana and Bishnah, 82 in Jammu East, 78 in R S Pura, 67 in Chhamb, 66 in Marh, 64 in Nagrota and 60 in Suchetgarh.

A total of 55,279 electors, including 268,287 female voters, spread across eight constituencies of Srinagar district, which include Hazratbal, Zadibal, Idgah, Khanyar, Haba Kadal, Amira Kadal, Sonawar and Batmaloo.

Of the 682 polling stations being established in district Srinagar, 126 will be set up in Batamaloo constituency, 110 in Hazratbal, 85 in Amira Kadal, 82 in Khanyar, 75 in Idgah, 72 in Sonawar, 70 in Zadibal and 60 in Haba Kadal.

In Samba district, a total of 177,028 electors, including 87,080 female voters, are expected to exercise their right to franchise in two Assembly constituencies of Samba and Vijaypur.


Please Wait while comments are loading...