Makkar gets 4th consecutive term as SGPC chief

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Amritsar, Nov 22 (UNI) Jathedar Avtar Singh Makkar was today unanimously elected the president of the Shiromani Gurdwara Parbandhak Committee (SGPC) for his fourth consecutive term.

The name of Jathedar Makkar was proposed by former SGPC chief Bibi Jagir Kaur and seconded by Alwinderpal Singh Pakoke at the meeting of the general house of the SGPC being held at Teja Singh Samundri Hall in the Golden Temple complex here.

Jathedar Makkar owing allegiance to the Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD) was declared elected unopposed by SGPC secretary Harbeant Singh.

The SAD members of the SGPC had yesterday authorised SAD president Sukhbir Singh Badal to select the candidate for the President's post and other office bearers who would be at the helm of affairs of the religious body for the next one year. Jathedar Makkar's re-election was expected as he had the backing of Chief Minister and SAD Patron Parkash Singh Badal.

Along with Jathedar Makkar, Mr Raghujit Singh Virk from Haryana was re-elected to the Senior Vice-Presidents's post. Likewise, Kewal Singh Badal was re-elected the Junior Vice President and Mr Sukhdev Singh Bhaur as the general secretary.

The election to all the four posts was unanimous as the SAD had a commanding majority in the 185-member general house.


Please Wait while comments are loading...