300 withdraw from fray in Rajasthan

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Jaipur, Nov 20(UNI) As many as 300 candidates withdrew from the fray in the December 4 Assembly polls in Rajasthan even as deadline for withdrawals passed off this afternoon.

Sitting MLA and Gujjar leader Prahlad Gunjal has withdrawn in Jhalrapatan in Jhalawar from where Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje is seeking her second successive term.

However, rebel BJP leader former Food and Civil Supply Minister Kirodi Lal Meena(Sawai Madhopur and Todabhim), sitting BJP MLA Kanhiaya Lal Meena(Bassi) and Jeevram Chaudhary(Sanchor) did not withdraw.

The CPI nominees in Alwar(Rural), Sadulshahr, Anoopgarh and Ratangarh have also withdrawn, party state Secretary Dushyant Ojha said.

The party had directed them to withdraw in favour of CPI(M) candidates to avoid division of communist votes between the two left parties, Ojha told UNI.

As many as 215 candidates today opted out from the fray in 100 constituencies, 85 contestants had withdrawn yesterday itself, an Election Office Spokesman said.

A total of 433 nominations of 383 candidates were rejected in different constituencies during scrutiny on Tuesday whereas nominations of a total 2877 candidates in 200 constituencies were found valid.

UNI..SS..LS RK2100

Please Wait while comments are loading...