EC rejects seven nominations for J

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Jammu, Nov 19 (UNI) The Election Commission today rejected the nominations of seven candidates representing different political parties in Reasi and Udhampur districts for the fourth phase of Jammu and Kashmir assembly election to be held on December 7.

''The nomination papers of seven candidates were rejected during scrutiny of documents thus reducing the number of candidates from 101 to 93 in both the districts,'' official sources here said.

The nomination papers of four candidates were rejected in Ramnagar assembly segment of Udhampur district during scrutiny including Des Raj Khajuria (Congress), Monika Sharma (BSP), Mohan Lal (BJP) and Mohd Amin (NC), they said, adding that 12 candidates have been left in fray for the Ramnagar seat.

''Nominations of three candidates were rejected in Reasi constituency during the scrutiny of the documents including that of Ram Singh (Jammu State Morcha-Progressive), Santosh Suri and Sita Ram (Independents) thus reducing the number of contestants to 17 from 20,'' sources asserted.

However, one more candidate filed nomination papers in the Kathua district, which is going to poll in the fifth phase on December 13, bringing the total number of nominations to eight.


Please Wait while comments are loading...