8 polling stations in Mizoram identified 'very sensitive'

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Aizawl, Nov 19(UNI) Sixty-two polling stations in Mizoram have been identified as 'sensitive' and another eight as 'very sensitive.' All the 'very sensitive' polling stations fall under Hmar People's Convention-Democratic (HPC-D) demanded autonomous district council area bordering Manipur.

The sensitive polling stations include 14 in Aizawl, eight in Lunglei, four in Saiha, six in Kolasib, 11 in Mamit and Champhai, two in Serchhip and six in Lawngtlai districts.

There are altogether 1026 polling stations in the state.

After the final withdrawal, 206 candidates are left in the fray to contest in the sixth 40-seat Mizoram Assembly elections. Of these 39 candidates would contest on Mizo National Front tickets and one on Maraland Democratic Front, MNF'a ally, for Palak seat.

The Opposition Congress has fielded 40 candidates, while the United Democratic Alliance has fielded 38 candidates on Mizoram People's Conference and Zoram Nationalist Party tickets.

Lok Janshakti Party has fielded 33 candidates, while the BJP has put up nine candidates.

Furthermore, there are four Lok Bharati and two JDU candidates besides 37 Independents.

Ruling MNF president Zoramthanga, who is contesting from two constituencies, is facing a six-cornered contest in Champhai North and five-cornered contest in Champhai South.

Opposition Congress president Lal Thanhawla, who also contests from two constituencies, is locked in a four-cornered contest in Serchhip and a five-cornered contest in South Tuipui.

The chief ministerial candidate of United Democratic Alliance 86-year-old Brig (retd) T Sailo is also locked in a four-cornered contest in Aizawl West-II.

The UDA's deputy chief ministerial candidate and partner and ZNP chief Lalduhoma, contesting from two constituencies, will face a four-cornered fight in Aizawl West-I and a six-cornered fight in Tuivawl constituency.


Please Wait while comments are loading...