Three more vigilance courts in pipeline in Orissa

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bhubaneswar, Nov 3 (UNI) Orissa Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik today announced that three more vigilance courts would be set up soon in Orissa for a speedy trial of the cases related to corruption.

Mr Patnaik said the new courts would be opened at Kandhamal, Bhawanipatna and Keonjhar, adding the total number of such courts would increase to 14 with the new entries.

The Chief Minister was speaking at a function organised to celebrate the vigilance week here.

'' Speedy trial and prompt punishment will deter corruption and rejuvenate public confidence in governance. The state is poised for a mass industrialistation and economic movement. It is the duty of the government to see that corruption does not become a roadblock on the march towards economic progress,'' Mr Patnaik said.

He informed that the government had tried to revamp the mechanism of vigilance department, apart from setting up two special courts at Cuttack and Bhubaneswar for trying the disproportionate assets cases.

The government has opened seven new vigilance units this year in Dhenkanal, Sonepur, Deogarh, Nawarangpur, Boudh, Jharsuguda and Nuapada to check corruption in the grass root level.


Please Wait while comments are loading...