Cong shortlists 53 candidates for Delhi Assembly polls

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Oct 25 (UNI) The Congress today shortlisted candidates for 53 Assembly constituencies in Delhi, said DPCC president J P Agrawal.

The remaining 17 will be decided later, he said.

A formal announcement will be made by the AICC.

''The names of Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit, most of her cabinet colleagues and several sitting MLAs have been finalised,'' party sources said.

They, however, said the name of Health Minister Yoganand Shastri has been kept pending.

Two DPCC office-bearers Madan Karwal and Suresh Malik have also been named, sources said.

Jagiram Bhatti, Delhi BSP chief, who recently joined the Congress, former BJP member Dayanand Chandela and NCP's Ramvir Singh Bidhuri have also been given tickets, they added.


Please Wait while comments are loading...