C'garh BJP denies ticket to minister, 5 parliamentary secys

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Raipur, Oct 22 (UNI) The BJP has denied tickets to 18 sitting legislators, including one minister and five parliamentary secretaries, in Chhattisgarh with the objective of tackling anti-incumbency factor during the Assembly elections.

The party had announced the names of candidates for 78 out of 90 assembly seats so far. More legislators were likely to be denied tickets, party sources said.

However, several ministers with tainted image were provided ticket but Chhattisgarh Scheduled Caste Welfare Minister Ganeshram Bhagat was denied ticket due to opposition by a senior party leader, they said.

The BJP has fielded 23 backward class candidates of the 43 general seats in its bid to increase its base among this section in view of State Congress president being appointed from the backward community.

Chief Minister Raman Singh would contest from Rajnandgaon assembly seat. Seven women have been fielded, while two MPs, including state BJP president, would also contest the polls.


Please Wait while comments are loading...