Veerendrakumar bags Vayalar award

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Thiruvananthapuram, Oct 8 (UNI) M P Veerendrakumar, MP, has won this year's prestigious Vayalar Literary Award for his travalogue 'Haimavathabhoovil'.

The award carries a prize of Rs 25,000, a sculpture by Kanayi Kunjiraman and a citation.

Mr Veerendrakumar is the 32nd winner of this award, instituted in memory of poet lyricist Vayalar Rama Varma.

'Haimavathabhoovil' narrates the author's experiences and reflections during an extensive travel through the Himalyan region.

A great author, orator, politician, Parliamentarian and a newspaper magnate, he has won many awards.

Odakkuzhal Award (1997), Kerala Sahitya Academy Award (2002), Dubai Kairali Kala Kendra Award (1993), C Achutha Menon Award (1995) and Kesari Memorial Award (1998) were some of the awards he bagged.


Please Wait while comments are loading...