TDP MLA quits to join Chiru's party

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Hyderabad, Oct 5 (UNI) The main opposition Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in Andhra Pradesh, facing the problem of migration of party leaders, suffered yet another blow ahead of the 2009 Lok Sabha and Assembly elections when its sitting MLA from Chodavaram in Visakhapatnam district today quit the party to join the fledgling Praja Rajyam Party(PRP)of actor-turned-politician Chiranjeevi.

Mr Srinivasa Rao faxed his resignation letter to the NTR trust, the party headquarters here, party sources said.

Rao's associate and Visakhapatnam urban district TDP President C M A Zaheer Ahmed and former MLA from Pendurthy Ganababu, too quit the TDP after the last ditch effort made by TDP Floor Leader in Council Dadi Veerabhadra Rao to bring about reproachment failed.

The resignations came in the wake of the PRP chief deciding to embark on a mass contact programme in North coastal Andhra Pradesh from October nine, the 'Vijayadasami' day.

A host of TDP leaders from coastal Andhra Pradesh, who had quit the party to join the PRP, included former Ministers T Sitaram and K Vidyadhar Rao.


Please Wait while comments are loading...