3 IITians get 2008 Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar awards

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

New Delhi, Sep 26 (UNI) Three IITians are among 10 scientists selected for the prestigious 2008 Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for science and technology announced here today.

While Dr Pradeep Thalappil, Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai and Dr Jarugu Narasimha Moorthy, IIT, Kanpur were declared winners in Chemical Sciences, Dr Ranjan Kumar Mallik, IIT Delhi, New Delhi won in the field of Engineering Sciences, CSIR DG, Prof Samir K Brahmachari announced on the occasion of CSIR Foundation Day.

Dr G P S Raghava, Institute of Micobial Technology, CSIR, Chandigarh and Dr L S Shashidhara, Centre for Cellular and Molecular Biology, CSIR, Hyderabad bagged the award in Biological Sciences.

Following is the list of other awardees: Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean&Planetary Sciences -- Dr P N Vinayachandran, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore; Mathematical Sciences -- Dr Jaikumar Radhakrishnan, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai; Medical Sciences -- Dr Ravinder Goswami, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi; Physical Sciences -- Dr Raghunathan Srianand, Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics, Pune and Dr Srikanth Sastry, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore.

The award is given to scientists below 45 years of age for their outstanding scientific contributions made primarily in India during the past five years.

The prize comprises a citation, a plaque and a cash award of Rs 5,00,000 and would be given by the Prime Minister at a later date.


Please Wait while comments are loading...