K'taka Govt forms Internal Security Committees

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Bangalore, Sep 24 (UNI) In the wake of increasing terrorist activities, Karnataka government today announced formation of Internal Security Committees at state and District level.

The Committees would review and recommend ways to curb terrorist activists and provide special security to important reservoirs and power plants in the state.

While the state level Committee would be headed by Additional Chief Secretary at District level, ministers in charge of respective Districts will be incharge of the Committee, according to a release from the Chief Minister's Secretariat here.

Other members of the state level Committee includes Chief Secretaries of Internal Administration, Power, Revenue, Water Resources, Intelligence Department Assistant Director and State Intelligence Department Chief. Karnataka Power Corporation Managing Director will be the permanent invitee while Director General and Inspector General of Police would be convenor.

At District level, Zilla Panchayat President/Vice President, Deputy Commissioner, Zilla Panchayat Chief Secretary, Superintending Engineer/Chief Engineer, District Level Water Resources/ Power department officers would be the members, while Police Commissioner/Police Superintendent will be the Convenor.


Please Wait while comments are loading...