Olympic medallists to be honoured during Dasara

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Mysore, Sep 21 (UNI) Karnataka Rural Development, Panchayati Raj and District Incharge Minister Shobha Karandlaje today announced the State Government would honour three Olympic medallists on October four, during the Dasara Sports Meet inauguration here.

Speaking to the mediapersons, she said as per the Chief Minister B S Yeddyurappa's instruction, Gold Medal Winner Abhinav Bindra and Bronze Medalists Vijendra Singh and Sushil Kumar would be honoured on the occasion and awarded prize money of Rs ten lakh and five lakh each respectively. All of them had confirmed their participation.

The preparations for the grand Dasara festivities had been going on war footing with the city corporation spending Rs 7.5 crore on the roads and other works before the beginning of Dasara on September 30.

All cultural events and music programmes in front of the palace would be inaugurated by Veteran Actor K S Aswath.

A six-day 'Yuva Dasara' programme for youth was being organised in which noted singers Vasundra Das and Shankar Mahadevan, drummer Shivamani and flautist Praveen Godakindi would participate.


Please Wait while comments are loading...