Poll bound Mizoram will have three new districts

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Aizawl, Sep 1(UNI) The Mizoram Government today agreed to create three new districts in the poll-bound state in addition to the existing eight.

The Cabinet meeting has agreed to create three new districts, Hnahthial, Khawzawl and Saitual, in view of having smoother and better administration, a government source said here.

The meeting under Chief Minister Zoramthanga also decided to divide Mizoram into two administrative zones- northern and southern zone. While the northern zone headquartered at Aizawl will comprise of seven districts, including the two newly-created Khawzawl and Saitual, the southern zone headquartered at Lunglei will consist of four districts- Lunglei, Saiha, Lawngtlai and Hnahthial. Each zone will be looked after by zonal commissioner, an IAS officer.


Please Wait while comments are loading...