Shibu Soren wins trust motion by 8 votes

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Ranchi, Aug 29: Jharkhand Chief Minister Shibu Soren on Friday, Aug 29 afternoon won the trust vote by eight votes in the State Assembly. Earlier, with the Shibu Soren-led UPA government moving a trust vote in Jharkhand Assembly, Speaker Alamgir Alam had to adjourn the House for 15 minutes after the BJP demanded that he take up pending disqualification petitions against some members, including ministers.

The House was adjourned briefly after BJP members squatted on the floor raising slogans when Alam rejected BJP MLA Saryu Roy's demand that the house should decide the fate of the members facing disqualification petitions since 2005. The BJP's demand came after the Speaker on Thursday, Aug 28 night restrained two suspended BJP MLAs Vishnu Bhaiya and Manohar Tekriwal from participating in the voting.

The Speaker said the decision was taken after Leader of the Opposition Arjun Munda on August 27 submitted a petition demanding freezing of voting right of Bhaiya and Tekriwal as there was a possibility of cross-voting by them.

On the demand against others facing anti-defection charges, the Speaker said those were court matters and should not be raised in the house.

With Bhaiya and Tekriwal restrained from voting, a total of 78 members in the 81-member House (excluding the Speaker) can vote during the floor test.

Oneindia News

Please Wait while comments are loading...