JD(U) expels two MPs for violating party whip

Written by:
Subscribe to Oneindia News

Patna, Jul 24(UNI) Janta Dal (United) today expelled two MPs--Ram Swaroop Prasad and P P Koya - for violating the party whip during the voting on the Prime Minister's confidence motion in the Lok Sabha on July 22.

A JD(U) statement issued here said the decision to expel both the MPs was taken at an emergency meeting in New Delhi. The meeting was held under the chairmanship of party president Sharad Yadav.

Mr Prasad, an MP from Nalanda in Bihar, had voted in favour of the UPA government, while Mr Koya, another party MP from Lakshdweep(union territory) remained absent during the voting on confidence motion violating the party whip which had had directed its MPs to vote against the government.

UNI KKS-ABA KK/src1910

Please Wait while comments are loading...